Seychelles Volunteer Opportunities

Click here for more information

The Seychelles comprises 115 islands which represents an archipelago of legendary beauty. Of these 115 islands, 41 constitute the oldest mid-oceanic granite islands on earth while a further 74 form the low-lying coral atolls and reef islands of the Outer Islands, which makes for sensational snorkeling and diving.

Not only does the country play host to the beauty of tropical beaches and landscapes, it’s also the centerpiece in many ghost stories and tales of piracy and buried treasure. Stone prisons and old forts are nestled amongst the country’s national parks and reserves, which make up almost half of the country’s landmass.

Rare history is paired with even rarer and endangered wildlife in the Seychelles, including birds such as the paradise flycatcher, tortoises and the Coco de Mer, the world’s heaviest nut.

  • In a bid to increase revenue, the government created an Economic Citizenship Program in 1996 that provides foreigners with a Seychelles passport if they pay US$25,000.
  • The British gained control of the islands when they signed the Treaty of Paris in 1814, changing the island’s name from Anglicized Seychelles.
  • Seychelles gained independence on 29 June, 1976.
  • The capital, Victoria, is the smallest capital in the world.
X Close